Jade Help

victorC

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hi everyone. I am new to this wonderful forum and a bonsai novice as well.
I live in subtropical South Florida. Last month one of my elderly neighbor who had been ill for over a year passed away and her son, knowing I have a green thumb, offered me a few of the plants from her yard. One plant was a small jade full of weeds knocked over near the house drain. I re-potted it and trimmed some of the rot and dead then took opposite branches leaving the ones in best condition. The plant has since sprouted new leaves and I am thinking I am ready to work on it some more but I am lost as to where to proceed from here. I have never worked with jade bonsai so shaping it is somewhat foreign to me. I might even be barking up the wrong jade plant for a bonsai and can handle it if this is not even a good bonsai candidate.
Here are front, top and back photos. Any advise would be most appreciated. Thank you. -Vic

Attachments

• front.jpg
    front.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 54
  • top.jpg
    top.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 45
  • back.jpg
    back.jpg
    70.2 KB · Views: 54

Jester217300

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Nice port. I would start by researching succulent care. I hope the dead material you found wasn't actually rotten, if there is ANY active rot on this plant it will continue to rot until the entire plant dies. Dried up branches and roots are fine but wet, gooey, black rot it not and will need to be cut out.