Just collected really cool Eastern Hemlock.

markyscott

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Makes alot of sense thank you Mark.

What i was coming at with the fertilizer is for the microbes to help out woth nutrient uptake. Bot the jobes and espoma are both organic and will not burn your plant if used at recomended or slightly above. The more root contact you have with these types of fertilizer the better it works. When i say jobes NEVER THE SPIKES!!! The granulated one

It is good to have a healthy microbial environment in your substrate. I've no experience with jobes or espoma, but I appreciate you sharing yours.

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
When I was doing a lot of evergreen collection in the PNW, the general pointers were to:
  1. Retain as much foliage as possible and don't touch the growing tips
  2. Retain as much of the field soil as possible, but remove the old soil along the edge of the rootball so that the roots extend out into the new medium.
  3. Plant in a coarse, well draining medium. Most people I knew used pure pumice with the fines removed. None of the experienced collectors I knew used potting soil. The coarse medium allowed them to water a lot which kept the substrate well aerated and a high air-filled porosity. This is what encourages root growth.
  4. Many species (for sure junipers) were put under mist after collection. I believe the hemlocks were as well, but I can't recall specifically.
  5. Light fertilizer was started at the first sign of growth. Fertilizer was increased as plant growth was seen to increase.
  6. After a couple of seasons of good growth, they started the process of removing the field soil. This was generally not done all at once.
This is exactly how to collect or even just transplant comifers from one spot to the next.

Planta

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b