Kotohime Japanese Maple Cuttings

JonW

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi all,

Inspired by the JM maple cutting thread that went askew... I figured I'd share my Kotohime cuttings from this fall. I did some hard, structural pruning and got about 6 cuttings including some about the width of a pencil and others pretty thin / semi hardwood. The 3 thinner ones took - one is growing very vigorously and the other two have had leaves all winter, but not grown as much. I'm no expert, but some I'll post my process below the picture.

IMG_20210315_170743.jpg

• Took the cuttings in the morning, dipped in rooting hormone (I'm usually too lazy to use this stuff), planted in 1/8th inch pumice with sphagnum moss as a top-dressing. I think the finer bonsai medium works well - in the past, I used turface fines (not the dust, but smaller particles than I'd use for bonsai), but I stopped using turface in my mix and I'm using the last of it in less-preferred plants or as soil amendment.
  • I placed these on top of my furnace (as a source of bottom heat) and only added supplemental lighting when I saw buds swelling
  • Supplemental lighting: I used a 100-watt equivalent (so probably 10-15 watts) LED bright white bulb. Apparently 3-4k Kevlin can be a better grow light, but bright white also works and is what I had always used for vegetative growth
  • As you might suspect, my furnace is in my basement, as are these cuttings. I keep my basement under 45-50 percent humidity, but the dehumidifier rarely needs to turn on in the winter, so probably dryer. The air temp is in the 60's but the furnace provides bottom heat.