Looking for a new project!

sully

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello so i am new to bonsai i am on my second specimen. my first unfortunately was a mallsai. Which died. I then created my current tree from a juniper shrub from home depot and i believe its at a point where its thriving and up until autumn when i will most likely wire it, there really isn't much to do except water it.

BUT i am addicted!! so i am looking into a new project. I'm in Miami Florida i have a small outdoor space in front of my house that faces west.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Being in Florida, you have a very wide pool of tree varieties to select from. Lucky you. :)

Good luck!

sully

Seedling
Reaction score
Being in Florida, you have a very wide pool of tree varieties to select from. Lucky you. :)

Good luck!

im looking for specimens that arent too big, the space i have is limited and i don't really want to have a big tree with a big heavy pot. Any suggestions for small trees that are a bit faster growers than junipers?

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
My favorites that are good in your area are; elm, boxwood, buttonwood, bougainvillae, and neea buxifolia

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Don't forget Ficus. You should be able to grow them outdoors 100% of the year in Miami.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Don't forget Ficus. You should be able to grow them outdoors 100% of the year in Miami.

I debated about ficus and (for me) it is not nearly as nice to work on as the ones I listed. I'd work with a Brazilian Raintree instead. :)

mat

Chumono
Reaction score
I think you should visit a bonsai nursery and see what catches your eye. Most good ones will have some real nice (expensive) trees as well as plenty of inexpensive pre-bonsai to choose from. The species suggestions above should all be pretty easy to keep alive down in Miami.

jkd2572

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone