Newbie looking for help on collecting local pines

DreRega

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm kind of new to bonsai. More like I'm learning how to ride a bike again after a long vacation from it. I live in Cape Cod Massachusetts and would like to collect a few small pines this spring(soon) to get accustomed to working with pines. I really would like to work with pines but don't see myself spending hundreds upon hundreds of dollars on Pines if I cannot keep them alive right away. My question is are there any particular pines here in Massachusetts that are suitable for bonsai. If there is anybody local here that could offer some advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
Hello everyone. I'm kind of new to bonsai. More like I'm learning how to ride a bike again after a long vacation from it. I live in Cape Cod Massachusetts and would like to collect a few small pines this spring(soon) to get accustomed to working with pines. I really would like to work with pines but don't see myself spending hundreds upon hundreds of dollars on Pines if I cannot keep them alive right away. My question is are there any particular pines here in Massachusetts that are suitable for bonsai. If there is anybody local here that could offer some advice I would greatly appreciate it.
You are in pitch pine (Pinus rigida) heaven up there on Cape Cod. My folks live near the canal and Scussett Beach. There were numerous pitch pines growing in the sandy soil near their house that I lusted after but never got around to collecting (never asked the land owners permission, either, which is the first step...hint, hint:))

jeanluc83

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a