Portulacaira Afra General Care

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the bonsai world and to Bonsai Nut.

I have recently gotten a Portulacaira Bonsai tree. I have been researching some care instructions and I have read about not overwatering it, however I have a few more questions that I either researched conflicting information on or could not find any info at all...
1) When is the optimal time to wire a Portulacaria Afra?
2) I have a grow light for it because I am keeping it indoors year round, is there a need to reduce the intensity and duration of light in the winter to simulate the lighting it would get in the winter in its native South Africa?

Thanks in advance for your help. Much appreciated!

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have a portulacara. Many do not think of them as bonsai. I think they are great. I keep mine outside year around. Since it is a succulent you can wire anytime. I clip and grow the one I have. You can tell when they need water the leaves are not as plump. Have fun with it.
20180709_091131.jpg

Last edited:

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a