potentials for collection?

Nwaite

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'll be going out as much as possible in the next week or 2 to collect trees.

Thought I would post picks to see what you all thought.
An hopefully give helpful hints and tips. Thanks.

#1 is a maple with a good 2" trunk and about 1 1\2' tall . Didn't dig around the roots to much. It's still freezing at night so I didn't want to mess with them.

#2 I'm not sure what type it is.
I'm not very good with young trees yet sorry. But it's under 2' and already has some cragly bark started on it. Was thinking of just cutting that hole chunk of the dead stump off and letting it grow on it in a pot...?

#3 I believe is a bass? It was just growing off of another trees root under ground. Thought maybe I can make something out of it.

Attachments

• 20160324_185935.jpg
    20160324_185935.jpg
    343.2 KB · Views: 169
  • 20160324_184705.jpg
    20160324_184705.jpg
    289.2 KB · Views: 166
  • 20160324_184714.jpg
    20160324_184714.jpg
    247 KB · Views: 160
  • 20160324_185433.jpg
    20160324_185433.jpg
    241.3 KB · Views: 162
I dig the plan for 2.
Thays a nice little landscape.
Just make sure the roots ain't to far away.

Wicked.

3 could be dope.

1 would have to have a great Spread

Sorce

Number 3 would be a bitch to collect. You would need to get the hunk of root from the big tree because that is its main source of water and nutrition. You basically would have a tree on a log.
Number 2 looks doable. It looks to be a spruce or fir maybe.
If you try make sure to get as many roots as possible with native soil around them.
Number 1. If it's a maple I can't help. I don't mess with any. Too large of leaves,petioles and internodes. But it looks collectable if you are set on it.