Venturing out of my comfort zone

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
This is my first year overwintering a few things in the garage,(azaleas, and a beauty berry), and so far so good,I think. If I am successful with them, I am going to take a step out of the tropical/subtropical box, but stay with flowering. Any thoughts or suggestions on something not terribly challenging? Things I have been considering are Japanese Quince, Pyracantha, Flowering Crab apples, and Crepe Myrtles. Winters here, are a crapshoot. Some years they are mild, but this year we had an extended period of single digit weather, when I had to move stuff from the garage to the attic. So, it's variable year, to year.

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Quince and crabapples are pretty easy to tend, although some apple varieties are more disease prone than others. I'm not sure how crepe myrtles would do for you because they like hot summers to flower their best. In my climate, pyracantha can be troublesome, but hopefully some more local can chime in there.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Well. You have to have prunus. Mume for instance!?

I like forsythia, but they are a little hard to grow into nice bonsai.

Take anlook at cotoneaster and pomegranates too

_#1_

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I think Mume is just outside your zone. But hey, should definitely give one a try. I'm still on the hunt.
Mume.jpg

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I have a 5 gallon Paul’s Scarlett hawthorn on the way this Spring.....going to seriously try propagating it.Even small sizes of these are cool.If I am successful I could ship you a cutting cause’ these are hard to find.
A4B3EDE8-DDA1-43C5-B60A-518F4AABCB01.jpegBBED4E85-3071-4B13-815D-298C5B750823.jpegD0793F79-DB0B-48F5-BD7A-D6C689916D70.jpeg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6