Complete newbie - growing from seed (UK, zone 9a)

ForeverRaynning

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hello everyone!

So I’m completely new to this. Never had any real interest in bonsai before but my grandad gave me a bonsai growing kit he’d recieved the other year (he’s 90 and has an absolutely amazing green thumb with veg and flowers, but said he won’t get much use out of the kit at his age). I’ve one houseplant that I’ve kept alive for over a year and thats about it.

I decided to follow the instructions from sheffields in terms of scarification, stratification and sowing. A lot of the kit reviews mention only having success with one set of seeds (pinus halipensis) so I went looking for more reputable/detailed instructions. This may have been a mistake, I’m not sure.

So far I have planted the pines after a 24h soak in water. They are in a seed tray with a humidity dome in my south facing conservatory (but the blinds have been down so not been getting that much sun, opening them a bit yesterday incase the extra heat from the sun may help). They have been there for a little over 2 weeks and nothing has come up yet. I watered them yesterday, first time, the dome always has condensation so I assume the soil was still wet but watered anyway just to be safe as I was a but worried I should have been watering them (I did bottom watering as heard thats better for the roots and to not disturb the seeds). Also just opened the vents on the dome today incase some air is needed. The temp will drop in there quite a bit overnights but I figured trees grow outside normally anyway and would go through temperature fluctuations, but I know germination is usually done with heat mats or warm areas, the conservatory just gets the most sun.