EWP...Growing...Now? Bad?

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Uh oh....this reminds me of my dead mugo... I thought something was up when it started pushing needles out in December....and it croaked, full brown before spring.
I was looking at some stuff on the deck today and saw this! :eek::(
IMAG3735.jpg
I hope this isn't as bad as I think it might be....
Just needle buds, I know, but.... ....

I cut strongest new growth back in July, I cut each new branch back to about 3-4 needle clusters.
This is my first year with EWP.
Looking back, I shouldn't have cut it back at all, as it was collected early this year...
I remember thinking that it grew way stronger than I had ever hoped, and it was getting very long and top heavy, even with the pot full of rocks, it would fall over sometimes.... so I cut it back.

Here is another branch that looks like it might pop too...at least 4 new buds there, right at the cut.
IMAG3736.jpg
So, did I cut it back too soon you think?
Or is this perhaps normal?...I mean, lots of my trees are growing now, or still...
:confused:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
One of my Alberta dwarfs just put a few needles out on a new bud.

You remember if the Mugo threw curly growth?

I say with this being straight growth you're fine.

Curly is stressed.

No worries.

Sorce

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Being native to area no worries;). Maybe not regular growth but adapted and wanted to grow. With major part cut off energy went elsewhere.

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Being native to area no worries;).
That's what I'm leaning on...
This is maybe the weirdest tree I have...got it for free for a fellow bnutter nearby, who was thinning his collection a bit this spring.....got free taxus and a Japanese maple too :cool:.
Very thankful to @lordy for all 3 trees.