Greetings-wild olive tree-

The Robot

Seed
Reaction score
Hello.
This is my first post in this forum and i am quite new to Bonsai.
Well i collected a wild olive tree about a month ago (late december).
I live in Greece and the weather was not that cold.
I made some cuttings and a major Flush Cut (pics 4,5) because there was a big Branch that i didnt need.
I also made some root prunning and cut the major woody root in the center.
My purpose was to place my tree in a bigger pot for about a year and not in a bonsai pot from the beginning in order to help it find its balance and maybe get thicker.ther base of my trunk is about 8cm and the height is about 30 cm(its quite good)

Here is my "training" tree
wildolivebonsai.jpg

I have made some terrible mistakes:
1)maybe i shouldnt have cut the major central thick part of the root ( i dont know how is it called).
2)i watered it quite regular about twice a month (i read that in the beggining you should not water it a lot)
At this moment i see that the leaves have yellow spots and they are a bit dry.
3)After the major flush cutting i made i didnt use any cutting paste (i was not aware of its importance).Now after reading more articles i realized that flush cutting is the worst thing that somenone can do to a tree.I am afraid that my tree will not make it after all and even it forms a callus there would be a fungal danger.
I have to say that i feel really bad now about the harm i have caused to that tree but there are so many things that you cannot know from the beginning.
Thats all.
I would apreciate if anyone would like to help with this.
Thanks in advance,
The Robot

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hi Robot and welcome to BNut!!!

Please put your location and zone if possible at your profile so it will appear next/below to your username. Most people here won't read your first post or forget where you are after a while. :)