Japanese Black Pine in Zone 10a (South West FL)

Ev3

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I am relatively new to bonsai, I have quite a collection of purchased, collected, gifted, and cuttings. I have multiple ongoing projects and would somewhat consider myself intermediate at this point. I am hoping I can get a couple of answers on JBP. I currently live in FL (Lee County) (Zone 10A) and was wondering if I could even have a JBP down here. Secondly, I would like more in-depth information on the care of JBP and what to do for winter considering how hot the winters are down here.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Despite some of the northerners warning that JBP will not survive warmer climates many of our warmer climate Aussie growers find they grow well in northern NSW and Queensland which would probably equate to similar climate to Florida.
You will need to modify the pruning timings from that used in colder areas. I'm told warm region growers can decandle several times each year as the pines just keep growing.

Try searching for bonsai pines in tropical and sub tropical climates. Some of the growers on Ausbonsai.com.au may be able to help with advice and direct experience.

Adamski77

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8/9
JBP will need proper dormancy in winter months… at least 3 month of temperatures around zero Celsius (think it’s 32F). They will stand different conditions for 2-3 years but will be progressively weakening toward death.

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
My dad lives in Ft. Myers, quite a few pines in that area. Yes, JBP will grow there. Several members on this forum from Orlando on down to Ft Myers have showed their JBP. Not a beginner tree, but it can be done.

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I currently live in FL (Lee County) (Zone 10A) and was wondering if I could even have a JBP down here.