More natural look help

Reaction score
USDA Zone
image.jpg hello everyone. I'm fairly new to bonsai but I am trying to create a trident maple with a more natural look. I know most folks prefer a super fat trunk and try to make the tree look like a mushroom. I'm looking for something more like the attach photo. The trunk doesn't appear to be chopped. How is this achieved? Thanks for your help.

First, welcome.
Second, the tree is a shohin, so around 8" tall from the soil surface. While it is small, it has remarkably good scale. Great bonsai don't make you consider whether a tree is 8" or 28" tall.

It likely began as an air-layer, which helps establish a large, radial base. It probably has a chop, where I noted in the photo. Still, the tree appears to be 10-12 years of good work.

So to answer the question...have a vision, make a good, radial base, grow a good trunk without scars. Try to keep a few small branches with short internodes on the trunk. Take time and develop branching and twigginess. Simple, not easy.
image.jpg

I have this Kiyohime in a similar style. It has been container grown from a seedling.

Would growing in a bonsai container create a slimmer trunk yet still appear strong like yours? BTW, your tree is very good. It's right along the lines of what i would like to accomplish.

So to answer the question...have a vision, make a good, radial base, grow a good trunk without scars. Try to keep a few small branches with short internodes on the trunk. Take time and develop branching and twigginess. Simple, not easy.
View attachment 80692

As my mum was used to say: "y'a pu qu'a"
I think Nike translated that by: 'Just do it' :)

Welcome and good luck with your maple dream!

Would growing in a bonsai container create a slimmer trunk yet still appear strong like yours? BTW, your tree is very good. It's right along the lines of what i would like to accomplish.