Please help with my new thriving maple! (I am a total noob)

prawn

Seed
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am a complete bonsai beginner that started during quarantine. I purchased a small Japanese maple tree starter about a month ago and since then it has really grown! I was so surprised and happy.
If you can please offer me any advice if I should be doing something at these early stages I would really appreciate it.

I know it might be very early but I already bought different strengths of wire and wire cutters, and have it in a large pot so it has room to grow. So far I've read tons of guides and watched a bunch of videos and it seems like everyone says maybe I should just let it grow out for a few years then try to shape it?

What happens if I try to shape it now as it is softwood?

Any and ALL suggestions or advice would be loved! Thank you so much.

I attached two pictures of when I first got it and just this morning! I think it is SO pretty.

First week:

start.jpeg

Current Growth:
now.JPG

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
@prawn Welcome! Enjoy your new tree! Read and learn from this site.....lots of good info here. Generally speaking development of a bonsai goes like this - get the base and trunk the size that you want (buy something big enough or grow out for some time), then develop the shape and branches. Your seedling has a long way to go, but judging from your pic you've got the time. Personally I must resist the urge to do too much for each plant, so you might consider acquiring bonsai at different stages of development to play with. Get one that has a trunk that is already pretty thick. Get another that has trunk and branches to refine. If all you have to do is sit and watch your beautiful seedling, you might get bored (board?). Add your general location to your profile here and people can give you more useful advice, and recommend a club nearby that can really get you going.

Paulpash

Masterpiece
Reaction score