(Question) White powder type substance on leaves.

DBuchhorn

Seed
Reaction score
Hi Everybody, I've been caring for my Ficus Ginseng now for roughly 4 months. I bought it with this white powdery substance on the leaves thinking I could easily wash it off with some water and a fine cloth. However this was not the case, I cannot clean it from the leaves without injury to the tree.

If anybody could please advise me on how to remove it I would very much appreciate the advice.

Also, This is my first Bonsai and I have no experience so please leave some discussion on idea's of shaping this tree and how I should go about the design. I would like to keep growing the trunk outwards and thicker.

PICTURES:
Leaves with white substance:
kFRHJIl.jpg

Fresh leaves with no substance by the looks of things:
U8wVAJ9.jpg

Approx. 2 weeks in my care:
iBZT9SQ.jpg

Approx. 4 Weeks in my care, Freshly prunes and watered:
OesSSEh.jpg

Last edited:

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is not full strength vinegar too strong? I also agree is H2O spotting.

Starfox

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
We have quite hard and heavily chlorinated tap water here and I noticed the same thing after misting so now I run my water through a jug filter first and it has stopped leaving the residue behind.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I wipe mine with my finger.;)

If yours doesn't come off so easy, I wouldn't water the leaves....

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

GSCarlson

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Another possibility is powder mildew. I don't know if ficus are susceptible to it.

aml1014

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Another possibility is powder mildew. I don't know if ficus are susceptible to it.
They are not very susceptible to powdery mildew At all, it is definitely mineral build up on the leaves. I have such hard water here that my bonsai pots go white in 4 months.

Aaron

Jarath

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone