Trident Maple from Nursery Stock?

jasonpg

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Hi All.

I picked up this Trident Maple from a bonsai nursery, and I'm curious how you guys would develop it. Should I do a hard chop to the trunk? Should I air layer it to make two trees?

I need feedback. I'm a noob :)

Bottom Portion
w6SLnBH.jpg

Top Portion with an added red line to show a hidden branch
DhHTi5X.jpg

barrosinc

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
If it were my tree I would chop it just above the first right side branch.
Or maybe even lower.

Some use the rule of thumb to chop at 2x trunk diameter.

http://bonsainut.com/forums/showthr...ible-trees-that-are-currently-over-10-ft-tall

It´s nursery stock, and it seems you are sorta new to the hobby. Just work this down or you loose an entire year for the airlayering.

jasonpg

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
If it were my tree I would chop it just above the first right side branch.
Or maybe even lower.

Some use the rule of thumb to chop at 2x trunk diameter.

http://bonsainut.com/forums/showthr...ible-trees-that-are-currently-over-10-ft-tall

It´s nursery stock, and it seems you are sorta new to the hobby. Just work this down or you loose an entire year for the airlayering.

Ah yes. Your post reminded me of a diagram I saw in Bonsai Techniques II. And your placement seems right on par with the 2x trunk diameter rule. Here is what I sketched up ... let me know if this looks correct.

Also - is it too late in the year to do this chop? I'm in Michigan (zone 5a).

jLN8fCH.jpg

Last edited:

barrosinc

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
that is what I would do, but I am no expert.
You should probably cut next spring? maybe you can airlayer now... I am not sure about the weather over there.

jasonpg

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
that is what I would do, but I am no expert.
You should probably cut next spring? maybe you can airlayer now... I am not sure about the weather over there.