Changing pots? (Portulacaria afra)

Afasnacht83

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi! I’ve just gotten a new cutting from a few months ago and I’m looking to let it grow out for a while so i can maybe (hopefully) begin the process of turning it into a bonsai. This is my first plant ever so I’m very very new to the game. I have him in a bit of a small pot right now, but it’s been suggested to move him to a bigger pot. I’m just curious what width and depth would best help him grow safely? Thank you! I added a photo of his current one ☺️ It’s about 4&1/2 inches tall and five inches wide. 256782

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I like to start with a 10” bulb pan. Or put it in the ground for a few years.

Once porttys are in free draining soil, you can pound them with chemical ferts

Orion_metalhead

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
1. Where are you located?
2. Where will you be keeping the P. Afra?

Afasnacht83

Seedling
Reaction score
1. Where are you located?
2. Where will you be keeping the P. Afra?
I’m from Missouri! I have been putting it outside in the mornings but we have really intense summer days so I move him to a well lit window in the afternoons. I have a grow light for the winter months since it’ll be way too cold to keep outside 😁

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I wouldn’t move it around like that every day. It can take Missouri summers no problem. :)

I’d leave it outside all summer and only bring it in once the nighttime temps start getting down towards the 40s. These are surprisingly cold hardy, but since it’s so small and will be repotted soon I wouldn’t let it go below 50 just to be safe.