Hi from up north

Salcomine

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to bonsai. I have always loved trees but am running out of room to plant them so the idea of small trees in pots is super appealing. I have always thought of bonsai as Japanese maples in pots but since I am up in zone 3, where they are annuals, I hadn't given it much thought. Wandering the Internet I came to Peter Tea's blog and discovered Japanese black pines as bonsai, so cool. Have been reading as much as I can about bonsai since.
Being part of a botanical society up here I have a bunch of plant in pots all over the place and went wandering the yard to see if I could find anything suitable for starting out. I came up with lots of sticks in pots now :D:D. a couple of junipers, a Scots pine, Austrian black pine and some lodgepole sticks, nothing spectacular but I was (am still) pretty stoked. I have been reading alot and absorbing a little about the timing of doing stuff, but have no idea what stuff I should do. Anyway I am of to look up how to post pictures directly to the site cause I need some help with my ugly sticks.

Thanks
Robyn

Ugly lodgepole sticks
Scots pine, kinda survived the winter
Austrian black pine nursery stick
Junipers blue Ridge something something

Attachments

• DSC_0916.JPG
    DSC_0916.JPG
    262.2 KB · Views: 46
  • DSC_0907.JPG
    DSC_0907.JPG
    239.9 KB · Views: 45
  • DSC_0911.JPG
    DSC_0911.JPG
    238 KB · Views: 45
  • DSC_0918.JPG
    DSC_0918.JPG
    267.6 KB · Views: 43
  • DSC_0923.JPG
    DSC_0923.JPG
    357.5 KB · Views: 44
  • DSC_0886.JPG
    DSC_0886.JPG
    330.5 KB · Views: 44
Last edited:
Peter Tea's blog is a great place to read.

But you will get real answers here...
If you Don't Mind The Crazy!

Welcome to it!

Sorce

Before attempting anything. Read. Read. Read. Read. There's lots of info about all of them here.