Japanese Maple fall pruning

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hey guys. I'm new to bonsai as of earlier this year. I purchased a 9 year old pre bonsai japanese green maple to work on this season and I think I'm hooked. I planted it in bonsai medium and set up an auto watering system on my balcony. I chopped the top and forced a new leader early in the season (zone 7b). I just finished fall pruning to shape it into more of a triangle. I'm trying to decide if I need to chop it lower next season or if I should have let the new leader thicken more before fall pruning (I removed about 3 feet of the extended leader). I'm open to any and all suggestions. I'll post some pics from throughout the growing season. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 20231203_150546.jpg
    20231203_150546.jpg
    178.3 KB · Views: 151
  • 20231205_185711.jpg
    20231205_185711.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 117
  • 20230418_115500.jpg
    20230418_115500.jpg
    121.3 KB · Views: 115
  • 20230411_111834.jpg
    20230411_111834.jpg
    155.8 KB · Views: 107
  • 20230509_135045.jpg
    20230509_135045.jpg
    171 KB · Views: 131

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
That depends on how large you want the finished tree to be and what you'd like it to look like. I love the tree so far. If it were mine I'd chop it just below that slanting chop mark and grow out a rounder, less triangular tree with a more natural look. But that is completely a matter of taste. The plus side of chopping it a little lower is that the trunk becomes a little thicker (relatively speaking of course). So you can get right to the fun stuff, branch development. If you like bigger trees or want a bigger tree than of course you'd let it rip for a while

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Thanks for the input @GGB. I'll look into the more natural look. I just had my mind set on a triangular shape. It could change at any time.

Reactions: GGB
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b