Cost of Pots In The UK.

Mitty

Yamadori
Reaction score
I have been growing Bonsai trees since 1971. For years I have bought pots of all kinds , and plastic starter pots.
However the price of ceramic and Mica pots has shot up. I can`t help but come to the conclusion that the "mystique " of Bonsai has hit the fan in a big way. There are pots of all kinds and there are so many "hand made bonsai pots " which look awful and I am sure are thrown together by idiots and con-men using the word Bonsai as a magnet to induce poor customers of their hard earned money. There are some beautiful dishes available at a stiff price , but ones that look like someone has sat on then (probably have ) at ridiculous prices.
Surely there must be a small company making fair priced pots !!!!!!!!

Victorim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I have been growing Bonsai trees since 1971. For years I have bought pots of all kinds , and plastic starter pots.
However the price of ceramic and Mica pots has shot up. I can`t help but come to the conclusion that the "mystique " of Bonsai has hit the fan in a big way. There are pots of all kinds and there are so many "hand made bonsai pots " which look awful and I am sure are thrown together by idiots and con-men using the word Bonsai as a magnet to induce poor customers of their hard earned money. There are some beautiful dishes available at a stiff price , but ones that look like someone has sat on then (probably have ) at ridiculous prices.
Surely there must be a small company making fair priced pots !!!!!!!!

Watching intently on this one Mitty.. I'm yet to find the answer...

Reaction score

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Off topic...you've been doing bonsai for as long as I've been born...no offense intended...mind sharing one of your older trees? I find it intriguing that you have done it as long as I've been born. Though, I know others who have done it many years as you. Just reading the year...really clicked in my mind.